Reintroductions

Allow me to reintroduce myself. My name is…

Wait… uhh, what is my name again… and most importantly who am I?

I’d LOVE to introduce myself to you, but who is going to introduce me to me?  Have you ever woken up one day and wondered… how did I get here?  No, not in a strange man’s bed, but HERE!!! Right HERE, mentally, emotionally and spiritually. Hell, if you’re feeling generous, you can throw professionally and romantically into the equation. The you that you knew to be true is no longer.  That “you” is lost and you really don’t know when that happened. Did that you get lost in translation?  Did that you get lost in the sauce?  Did that you turn into another you without you knowing? Someone must have come like a thief in the night and snatched you right from under you! HELP… break out the basset hounds and GPS tracking devices. Google Earth??  I mean with all this modern technology how is it possible for someone to get lost???    Ok, question… Tell me… who are you? Seems like an easy enough question right.  So why am I having such difficulty answering??

You [yoo unstressed yoo, yuh]

something or someone closely identified with or resembling the person addressed

What makes a person who they are?  The obvious answer would be “genetic composition” or some scientific theory of the evolution of mankind. But really, what MAKES a person who they are? Life experiences? External influences? The hand they were dealt? How do you become you? Then, if you are you, how is it possible for you to lose you? If its possible to lose you, then does that mean you never actually knew who you were?

Do you define you by your profession, or your hair, clothes, car or social circle? Or are those things just a byproduct of who you really are?

Do you have those things because of who you are, or are you you because you have those things?

-Black Girl Lost

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

