‘Tis the Season

I love this time of year.  Christmas makes me think of cuddling up by the fireplace, drinking hot cocoa and snuggling with my mister.  It makes me think of exchanging gifts and creating memories. This year, I was excited to spend Thanksgiving and Christmas and bring in the New Year with my boo-bear… then we broke up. Wait, no!! Can’t we stay together until after February? That way we can squeeze Valentine’s Day in!?

Seriously, who wants to be alone for the holidays? How do you deal with an unexpected break-up during this time of year?  And did I already miss choosing season?  Choosing season is the time of year when it first begins to get cold and everyone “chooses” a significant other in order to be boo’d up in the colder months. Lol.

Well, I think I’ve already missed choosing season and Christmas is three days away.  Fortunately, I still will be surrounded by the love of my family and friends, but, let’s face it.  Being around friends and family during the holidays isn’t the same as spooning and snuggling with your sweetie, curled up next to the fireplace in one of his over-sized t-shirts.

Break-ups don’t automatically mean endings; it just delivers the promise of new beginnings. Yes, it will be difficult to watch couples kiss under the mistletoe on Christmas and watch those lovebirds kiss at the stroke of twelve on New Year’s Eve, but I’m holding on to the hope that my season is right around the corner.  To hell with choosing season, I’m going to wait on my due season.

 Ecclesiastes 3

 1To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:  2A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;  3A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;  4A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;  5A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;  6A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away; 7A time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;  8A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.

6 thoughts on “‘Tis the Season

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

