Happy New Year

It’s a new year. Now what? Am I a new me? Did all my issues from 2011 disappear once the clock struck midnight? I kinda hoped that all of my transgressions would magically vanish and leave me with a clean slate at the stroke of twelve, but much to my surprise it didn’t happen (hmm, that’s weird). Actually, I felt the exact same way at 12:01a as I felt at 11:59p. My reality was still… well… my reality. It’s a new year but it’s the same me.

This year I didn’t make any outlandish unobtainable resolutions that I most certainly would break in a week, tops! No, I’m not going to finish paying off my student loans, although that would be AMAZING (sorry Sallie Mae). No, I’m going to stop eating Flaming Hot Cheetos even though they always TEAR my stomach UP. And, I’m pretty sure I will not be joining a gym. I’d love to accomplish all of those things, but each year I say to myself  “Self, this is the year you’re going to work out twice a week,” or “Self, give Sallie Mae back her money.” And each year I fall short. According to The Boston Globe, 80% of New Year’s resolutions fail by January 20th. Eek!

This year all I’ve asked of myself is to make better decisions. I’m an “instant gratification” type of girl. My decisions are usually made based on what I want right at that very moment, even if I know the long-term results will be negative.  I hope that my better decision-making will affect every aspect of my life, from the most trivial decision to the most major.

“Its amazing what you can see when you decide what to look at”

It’s a new year, but I’m still the same me… just with hopes of holding on to a new mentality.

Everyone who made a resolution this year I hope and pray that you can accomplish what you’ve set out to accomplish. I encourage everyone to strive to obtain the goal they’ve set this year.

Happy New Year!

XOXO

One thought on “Happy New Year

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

