This Weekend

This weekend was… interesting to say the least.  It started off the same way all my weekends have been starting off lately.  Hair woes, I can’t… Friday, after work I went to Trader Joe’s and purchased some jojoba oil and coconut oil, then I went to target and sold my soul to purchase some Jane Carter Nourish and Shine.  I went home, co washed and twisted my hair. The next morning I took my out twists. Fail.  So ONCE AGAIN, instead of getting ready for church I was sitting in the bathroom fooling with my hair.  I know I sound like a broken record so I’m just going to fast-forward.

I flat twisted my hair into an up do, threw on a hat and went looking for something to wear to a birthday party that I was going to attend later that evening.  My dress search only yielded some high wasted tapered legged vintage pants that I purchased from a consignment shop. (Which are amazing. I’m getting them dry cleaned and altered so I’ll post pictures when I get them back.)

Fortunately, I found a dress in my closet and got ready.  Dress? Check.  Make up?  Check.  Hair… UGH * punches wall* I’ll fast-forward over this hair drama as well. I went to the party despite my hair drama, but all I kept thinking was “I HATE MY HAIR.”

If ANYONE out there has any suggestions for me and my hair PUUHHLLEEEAASSEE help because I’m literally ONE hot comb away.

I’m not sure if it was because of my hair or my other frustrations a combination of the two, but I was still in a funk when I woke up on Sunday so I decided to g see Red Tails.  I called up my girl and we headed to Atlantic Station…

I feel awful for saying this but I wasn’t in love with the movie.  (Does that make me a terrible person?) I’m very happy that I was able to support the movie on the opening weekend, and I’m very happy that the movie was about the bravery of the Tuskegee Airmen (We Fight!!) BUUUT the acting was sub par and Ne-Yo…ohhh Ne-Yo… there are NO words that can express Ne-Yo’s acting, you just have to see for yourself.

After the movie we met up with a few more friends and had some sushi at Strip.  We laughed, we joked, we talked and we ate and I loved it.  Whatever funky mood I was in disappeared after my wine and sushi and girl talk.

I pray this week goes well and I pray that I’m able to shake whatever this funky thing is that’s giving me the blues. Keep me in your prayers!

A good friend and glass of wine
Someone to say it’s going to be alright
A good friend and glass of wine
A little pick me up to get me through the night
We talk trash and we laugh and cry
That kind of therapy, money can’t buy
Every now and then, every now and then
Every girl needs
A good friend and a glass of wine

Leann Rimes

One thought on “This Weekend

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

