Sometimes it Lasts in Love, Sometimes it Hurts Instead

Whenever I hear Adele’s sultry and haunting voice singing “Someone Like You” I close my eyes and sing along with all my might. Her voice and her lyrics take me somewhere; it’s as if she’s singing entirely about my situation.

“I wish nothing but the best for you too, don’t forget me I beg, I remember you said, sometimes it last in love; sometimes it hurts instead.”

Question, are those really the only two options in love? And if so, is that a risk that I’m ever willing to take ever again?

My ex.  …I saw him for the first time in a couple of months this week, seeing him brought back a range of emotions. Our break up was pretty bad, and by pretty bad I mean absolutely terrible. It amazes me how love can turn to hate seemingly overnight.

Recently, he was in a serious car accident where two people he was with died. It made me realize that when you throw life and death into the equation, the things that we fight about seem so petty. I wanted to reach out and hug the man that I’d spend the last four years of my life with, but it seemed like we were strangers.

As a general rule, break ups suck, and in my opinion, heartbreak is one of the most painful feelings that a person can experience. It’s not like a broken bone where you know that in 6 weeks you’ll be back in business; you can’t just pop a couple of pain killers and be on your merry way. The thing about heartbreak is that you have to let it run its course, and there’s no time frame for how long a broken heart needs in order to be mended.

My love didn’t last, and it very much hurt instead. Being in love is gamble. There’s a 50% chance that it’ll last and a 50% chance it’ll hurt instead, but is the reward really worth the risk?? I’m seriously debating that in my mind. Should you go ahead and love again and experience all the amazing things that love offers and HOPE that it will last, or do you protect yourself from the hurt that has a 50% chance of rearing its ugly head?

Nothing compares
No worries or cares
Regrets and mistakes
They are memories made.
Who would have known how bittersweet this would taste?

6 thoughts on “Sometimes it Lasts in Love, Sometimes it Hurts Instead

Add yours

  1. This touched me so much…. I’m headed to work listening to sia and all these other sob melancholy artist I love so dearly, but its only making me sad again. I do agree, heartbreak is by far the worst pain I ever felt. It’s like someone is pulling your heart out of your chest….to the point where u can’t help but feel like you are going to have a mental breakdown. Believe me I feel u on this. I feel like a stranger to my ex as well. Our breakup was very bad too. Reading this helps me to realize I am not alone. Thank u

    1. Rach, you are not alone at all! I think every woman can agree that they’ve been here at this place at some point. I think you and I can find comfort in knowing that the pain, as terrible as it may be, is only temporary. The question is tho, once the pain subsides will you be willing to try this thing called love again!!!???

    2. Yes indeed ….I feel everyday it gets easier and easier. I am definently open to jumping in love again because I’m a sucker for that whole butterfly, inlove feeling. I just wish I could feel that way throughout the whole realtionship, then reality sets in lol.

  2. I my opinion, when love descends on you there is very little choice…a lot of caution hopefully, but no walking away from the 50% chance it lasts. Not that I’d go seeking it out or anything…that’s just asking for trouble!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

