Gravity

Gravity is working against me
And gravity wants to bring me down
Oh gravity, stay the hell away from me
And gravity has taken better (wo)men than me
Just keep me where the light is

-John Mayer

Life has been keeping me busy these last few weeks.  My job is great, the people are awesome; I’m truly blessed. My whole family was together a few weekends ago in Alabama to visit my brother, my close friend is a couple of weeks (or days) away from giving birth to her baby girl  (I can’t wait to meet baby Livey).  I was able to see a close family friend get married, (they say love is better the 2nd time around!!) and she made a beautiful bride. (Pics coming soon.) There’s so much awesomeness going on, in and around my life…but something is missing.

Despite all the great things that I’ve been able to be a part of, I feel a certain emptiness and I don’t know where, why or how to fix it.  I’ve been desperately trying to get my thoughts together and pinpoint what has triggered this negative spirit.

I think somewhere along the line, I lost sight of the goal I set for myself and the fact that I’ve been derailed has just hit me like a ton of bricks.  I have a vision for myself but my vision is not matching up with my reality. Regrettably, I’ve made some of the same mistakes that I thought I’d already learned from, I’ve made some of the same decisions that I thought I wouldn’t make again and I’ve put myself in some of the same situations that I promised myself that I’d never put myself through again.

In the past, I’ve recognized that my desire for instant gratification and my impulsiveness usually produce a negative end result. Those negative results, more often than not, trickle down and leave a messy residue on every aspect of my reality. I’m not interested in going down that same path.

I find comfort in knowing that there’s no handbook to life and it’s not about how many times you get derailed or fall off, but it’s about recognizing when and where you’ve faltered, brushing yourself off and getting back on track.

Our greatest glory is not in never falling but in rising every time we fall.
Confucius

4 thoughts on “Gravity

Add yours

  1. I love those last two paragraphs. And remember, time and hindsight are some of the best teachers! Your ability to recognize these things show growth! Be easy on yourself 🙂 You’re moving in the right direction because it’s your direction (as we all are)!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

